HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: Shadow Image 3par equivalent?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:19 pm 

What would be the equivalent to a Hitachi shadow image copy? A full copy, physical copy, or virtual copy? I've never used 3par before.

I am looking for the best solution that will allow me the ability to mount a copy of my data to a backup server and allow resyncs with no or minimal impact to "parent" volume.

I currently back up approximately 90 terabytes of shadow image. I resync daily. Our largest database, approx 45TB averages 45,000 IOPS.... mostly reads.

Thanks,

Post subject: Re: Shadow Image 3par equivalent?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:31 pm 

If you want to maintain the current HDS methodology you would use a physical copy (clone) with a virtual copy (snap) attached to the source for periodic resync. To perform the backup after resync you'd then snap the clone copy and mount that snapshot for backup.

3PAR supports that method but it's typically only used for legacy compatibility and RFP tick boxes. In the 3PAR world a much better option would be to just take a virtual copy or several virtual copy snapshots, no need to resync, no impact on cache and minimal capacity overhead.

No or minimal impact to the source volume works differently on 3PAR vs HDS etc since everything is wide striped, source, clone or snapshot, so typically all share the same physical disks anyway. Counterintutively the clone resync will likely have the biggest impact on the source volume, either option is available to you but IMHO virtual copy would be the better and more flexible option.

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 3:08 pm 

Any idea what to do when a consistency groups needs to include more than 100 volumes?

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 6:40 am 

Nope that's the limit today, but why would you need so many volumes in a consistency group ?