HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:33 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:03 pm
Posts: 4
Hi, I'm new to this and already bought a rig of used 3PAR parts (7400). Soon discovered that a password-less OS with 3.2.2 is a brick without a support contract. Asked for professional support and an HP assessment was "just" 5k eur and that is just a check my home basement (aka. the data center). Then they will decide the cost of activating a contract. Since that is way more that the cost of this trash, I simple give up on HPE. I just needed to rebirth this thing :-(

Anyway, found many comments in this User Group but one thing is missing here: How to hack 3PAR. Apparently everyone here is very careful about not to breaking support. Well, many of these equipment are already out-of-support life-cycle anyway.

Found an alternative to my problem using this as a JBOD cage: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVcLegTqQ50&t=28s. I've already ordered a pair of P800 SAS controllers on ebay.

But before giving up on 3PAR forever, can someone here point me to "re-image" tips to downgrade my controllers to 3.2.1 (before the rolling passwords)?

For example, overriding the internal SSD with an pristine 3.2.1 OS?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:29 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Europe
Just asking.

You bought a used 7400 and the seller didn't provide any passwords, the default 3paradm/3pardata didn't work, nor did console/cmp43pd which is default for uninitialized systems... and you've asked HPE support to provide a time-based console password for you to reset/uninitialize your system? (Keep in mind the the last one is only active for the remaining part of the hour and assumes that the local set time and timezone is correct)

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:05 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1269
Location: Dallas, Texas
When decommissioning a 3PAR, there is a "back in the box" process to wipe the previous owners data and reset the unit back to factory default. No need to downgrade, the time based enhanced security can be removed when you re-initialize the array. The call this start the "Out of the box" process.

Test the console password Mammagut provided above via the serial console connection to the controller. If that doesn't work call support while you have the serial connected and ready for login. Instead of asking for professional services, ask for the Back in the Box procedure to redeploy your asset into a non-production lab. Once you prove physical ownership/possession they should give you 1 time password too to get the BITB process completed.

Did you get a physical service processor with it too?

Good luck!

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:04 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:03 pm
Posts: 4
Those passwords did not work and I have no idea how to get that kind of support for the Back-In-The-Box password. I don't believe there is support number that would accept my request without an active Support Contract.

I did ask for help to a local HPE partner and explicitly asked for "LAB" rebuilt and a way to do a "re-birth" from zero. The only proposal I got was to the the "parts assessment" (5k eur)!! Maybe they also don't know how to get to that BITB process.

Also discovered only one of the controllers is working. On the one that was booting, I did use the whack> prompt to edit the serial number to match the same on the box 1629547-0->1629549-0. but after q.uit the Inform OS login prompt still displaying the old serial. Maybe I need to run some PROM "save" command.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 3:07 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:03 pm
Posts: 4
Richard Siemers wrote:
Did you get a physical service processor with it too?


no, I'm trying to use a VSP (old ones) but could not get a way to connect yet. I'm assuming the VSP just needs to be on the same Ethernet independently of the old IP on the controller.
maybe I need to make it both Ethernet + Serial for the VSP to take over the controller remotely.

Anyway, I still believe the best way to unlock this box is to clone copy a node drive using a Linux box.
the problem is: where would we find the initial boot image for a brand new replacement SSD SATA drive?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:48 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Europe
canoas wrote:
Richard Siemers wrote:
Did you get a physical service processor with it too?


no, I'm trying to use a VSP (old ones) but could not get a way to connect yet. I'm assuming the VSP just needs to be on the same Ethernet independently of the old IP on the controller.
maybe I need to make it both Ethernet + Serial for the VSP to take over the controller remotely.

Anyway, I still believe the best way to unlock this box is to clone copy a node drive using a Linux box.
the problem is: where would we find the initial boot image for a brand new replacement SSD SATA drive?


I think you are screwed in multiple ways.

If you only working node came with incorrect serial number, and you've changed that without image of the node I doubt any generated passwords will work.

As you don't have other nodes in the system, a newer 3PAR OS and no physical SP connect I think you're gonna have a hard time getting it reimaged because it either needs to reimage from another node in the system or a physical SP (with probably old code).

So if you have a bad node I would try and get another one so you can reimage. But without any working passwords that's also going to be a challenge.

I'm guessing getting a refund is too late?

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 5:56 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:03 pm
Posts: 4
can't I delete the OS using whack prompt and use a VSP to load a new OS into the controller?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tips for buying used 3PAR equipment
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 12:24 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1137
Location: Europe
canoas wrote:
can't I delete the OS using whack prompt and use a VSP to load a new OS into the controller?

Don't think so. I think that feature require another node in the system to push the update.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt