3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Potential Firmware issues on power up.
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:42 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:25 am
Posts: 33
Hi i have 4 , 3par 7200 arrays, at various sites, and recently we have had to shutdown arrays because of power maintenance to the buildings.

2 arrays are on firmware 3.2.1(MU5) (call these A and B) and 2 are on 3.2.2 (MU4) (call these (C and D)

2 months ago, i shutdown A and C. all fine, but C failed to initialize correctly 1 node failed with

TOC quorum found for XYZ

, so it didn't come up until i ran a command

setsysmgr tocgen XYZ

, HP had to come out and replace the node that had failed.

Now last week i had to shutdown B and D, and exactly the same issue happened, with node D.

makes me think there is an issue with 3.2.2(mu4) as arrays A/B have always been fine.

has anyone else experienced issues on power up before?

Thanks
Mark


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Potential Firmware issues on power up.
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:26 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 616
Location: Europe
I haven’t kept a 3par shut down for so long lately, but way back when you always had to run setsysmgr tocgen when the 3par had been off for more than 24 hours.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Potential Firmware issues on power up.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:28 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:25 am
Posts: 33
yes they have all been off for over 24hours, but why do two of the arrays on 3.2.1 always come backup fine, and the arrays on 3.2.2 always fail.

The only fix is for HP to replace one of the nodes.

Doesnt seem right, and sounds like firmware to me.

:(

Cheers
Mark


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Potential Firmware issues on power up.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:39 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 616
Location: Europe
My guess would be hardware.... Strange things happen with old hardware when they are shut down for a while and physically moved. Vibrations do magic with a lot of connectors and stuff like that. Firmware would be more consistent, ie both nodes should fail... or at least the same node on both systems.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt